Svalois Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

EBSCOhost: THE POLITICS OF FARRAH'S BODY: THE FEMALE ICON AS CULTURAL EMBODIMENT

For some reason I am focused on hair and nails, the ‘wannabe’  in me.  I would love to send a photo of Farrah Fawcett and her famous ‘hair’, needless to say I have been compromised in my ability to send photos.  Thankfully, we are probably all familiar with her hair, smile, sexuality, relationships, and most unfortunately her premature death.

As I have been researching Farrah Fawcett in comparison to Marilyn Monroe and Paris Hilton, I have learned that Farrah is more than a sexual icon of pop culture but a very ‘transitional figure’.  She pulls together a lot of the other topics that I have talked about.  An attractive female detective (which we know to be unrealistic) but it makes for good TV and better ratings.  Her character portrayed an image (Charlie’s Angels, 1970’s) of an independent, career woman at a time when women were going through the sexual revolution and living in a post-feministic society.

Most interestingly, there are scholarly journals that capture the novelty of her alluring beauty and the politics of her femininity (I think politics and sexuality when Marilyn Monroe sang, Happy Birthday!)

So in my opinion Farrah is not only notorious for her beauty but I believe she captured a new revolutionary concept for women.

The article that I researched states that Farrah’s time of success was post-feminism and during the sexual revolution.  The article also states that the role Farrah played on, ‘Charlie’s Angel’s’ not only made her famous because of her great looks but the character was of a single, successful, career-oriented and independent woman.  In the 1970’s this type of woman was not only a motivator for younger women but a new way of life for women, unlike Marilyn Monroe, who’s fame existed not much earlier.  (The Politics of Farrah’s Body:  The Female Icon as Cultural Embodiment).

 

Farrah Fawcett

Citation:

Roberts, Chadwick.  “THE POLITICS OF FARRAH’S BODY:  THE FEMALE ICON

     AS CULTURAL EMBODIMENT.”  Journal of Popular Culture 37.1 (2003):

     83-104. America:  History & Life.  EBSCO.

EBSCOhost: THE POLITICS OF FARRAH’S BODY: THE FEMALE ICON AS CULTURAL EMBODIMENT.

2 Comments»

  womengirlsmedia wrote @

Your paper sounds interesting. Using famous female icons from different time periods and studying their influence on society, or societies influence on them, makes the historical study of feminism and the sexual revolution have a face and a personal story. It is interesting to compare these three women. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this.

  svalois wrote @

Thank you for your post. I just finished the paper and I have to say it is informative, I ended up focusing on technology more than the sexual revolution and feminism. But knowing the history of feminism makes the paper and the ‘time frame’ more understandable.


Leave a comment